The female lead of Sajid Nadiadwala’s 2 States does not want to be compared to Kareena Kapoor

Alia Bhatt, who is basking in the success of her latest release Highway, spoke to a monthly magazine recently about her experience being Veera, the city slicker, in Highway and Ananya, the Tamilian Brahmin girl in 2 States. In her first three movies itself, she has gotten an opportunity to work with big banners like Karan Johar’s Dharma Productions and Sajid Nadiadwala’s Nadiadwala Grandson Entertainment Pvt Ltd. alia-bhatt

Speaking about Highway, which was presented by Sajid Nadiadwala worldwide, she said, “Highway is special. It feels nice when people notice the hard work that has been put into the performance. I’m thrilled that close friends and associates have liked the film. I’ve invested a lot in my character – Veera Tripathi.” She added, “I don’t consider Highway to be just a film; it has been a transition, a life-changing experience. I became so much more comfortable with myself while doing it. By the end of the film I could sleep under a tree, eat my lunch alone facing the mountains. Also, I had never seen India at a stretch. With Highway, I travelled from Delhi, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh to Kashmir. The most prominent aspect of my journey was the women of the country. They work in the fields, walk in the hills, cut wood and do all things possible under the sun. I was so inspired.”

Talking about her next release 2 Sates, which is co-produced by Karan Johar and Sajid Nadiadwala, she said, “That’s a different zone altogether. I’m playing an interesting character (Ananya). She’s a feminist; opinionated, steady and a correct person. Ananya is not a Tamilian caricature. She’s not like Deepika Padukone in Chennai Express. She’s a modern day Tam Bram. She speaks Tamil fluently only with her family.” The 20 year old actor said she does not like to be compared to anyone. “I’m sick of being compared to Kareena Kapoor. I can imagine how irritated she must be. She’s in a different league altogether. No one can be compared to her. I’m a huge fan of Kareena Kapoor Khan. But I’m not trying to be like her because no one can. There’s only one Kareena Kapoor,” she said.

Leave a Reply

